Manage Groups in Office 365

In Office 365, groups can be used to manage teams or departments made up of users within your organisation. Office 365 provides several options for groups depending on what they need to be used for.

To create and manage groups, you must be assigned the ‘User Management Administrator’ role or greater.


Create a Group

Whilst groups can be managed in several locations, you will generally manage them through the Microsoft 365 Admin Center.

  1. Log into your Microsoft 365 Admin Center: https://admin.microsoft.com

  2. Go to ‘Groups > Groups’ on the left-hand menu

  1. Select Add a group

  1. Select the type of group required:
  1. Distribution Group: Emails sent to it will be distributed to the group members

  2. Security Group: Can be used to control access to resources, such as SharePoint files & folders. Cannot be used for emails.

  3. Mail-Enabled Security Group: A combination of both a Security Group and a Distribution Group

  4. Office 365 Group: A service that provides a group of users the tools to collaborate, including shared email and document storage. Learn more about Office 365 Groups.
  1. Add a Name for the group

  2. If selecting a group type that allows for email service, enter the required email address and if it can receive external emails

  3. If creating an Office 365 Group, enter the email address for the group, who should be the owner of the group and who can see group content

  4. Press Add

The group can take some time to appear in the list of groups. Return to the Groups list later to configure the group you created.


Add Members to a Group

If you’ve recently created a group or have a new user join an existing team or department, you will need to add them to the relevant groups.

  1. Log into your Microsoft 365 Admin Center: https://admin.microsoft.com

  2. Go to ‘Groups > Groups’ on the left-hand menu

  1. Click on the Group you want to edit

  1. Select the Members heading

  1. Select View all and manage members

  1. Select Add Members

  1. Tick the checkbox next to each user you want to add

  2. Press Save

  3. Press Close